My first visit to Tampines quarry park, Singapore

It is my first time exploring Tampines quarry park, which is relatively unknown in Singapore.

Tampines quarry park is located in the northeast region of Singapore.

It was drizzling intermittently while I was walking towards the main track of the quarry park via Tampines Road/Link, so the weather was cool and pleasant.

The UFO-shaped water towers can be seen from the entrance of the quarry park, where the main track begins in the northern end.

The terrain is mostly easy to walk for hiking beginners, especially along the main track, where butterflies are seen flitting around the forest undergrowth.

I saw some trails leading towards the steep slopes on the sides, but I stayed on the main track as I wanted to reach the lake as soon as possible, instead of getting sidetracked (literally).

A makeshift wooden bridge across a murky stream

Unlike the usual parks, this area has no public facilities such as benches, shelters and restrooms.

It is good to see small trails leading to the main road along the way, as I need not have to walk back all the way to the north entrance after I finish hiking in the forest.

Remnants of human artefacts, such as discarded bottles, littered parts of the surrounding area.

Puddles of stagnant water on the muddy ground in the degraded forest may encourage mosquito breeding, and I was greeted by some mosquitoes during the hike.

I hope the forest will recover its biodiversity, so that the mosquito population will be better controlled by natural predators.

Though buildings and roads can be seen from a close distance, the forest is pretty quiet, save for an occasional rumble from flying aircraft over the neighbouring Paya Lebar airbase.

Morning glories

Finally, I reached the lake at the southern end of the park, where the abandoned quarry has been filled with water.

Panoramic view of the quarry lake

The view at the lake is scenic, reminding me of the quarry lakes in Bukit Batok nature park, Bukit Timah nature reserve and Pulau Ubin.

But unlike those quarry lakes, there are no granite hills around, only “sand dunes” barely visible in the background.

I spotted a huge water monitor lizard scrambling towards the lake when I was walking along a trail.

Overall, I enjoyed the hiking experience in the forest, thanks to the fine weather and peaceful atmosphere.

There is something refreshing about its wildness and desolation, as most other parks in Singapore have been tamed and manicured.

One thing that I feel needs to be improved about Tampines quarry park is its cleanliness, for the discarded waste, such as plastic non-biodegradable material, not only is unsightly but also contaminates the ground and surrounding water bodies.

I hope that all future visitors of the park will be considerate and responsible for not littering or polluting the environment.

Leave a comment