Basil plant before and after watering

After I started growing a pot of sweet basil plant for about a couple of weeks, I noticed that whenever I haven’t watered the plant for more than a day, its leaves would start to droop slightly. But every time shortly after I watered the plant, its leaves would seemingly miraculously perk up and the whole plant would look sprightly again.

Later, I came across this information in the Herbs Guide app on my iPhone which explained the phenomenon I observed:

“Although basil grows best outdoors, it can be grown indoors in a pot and, like most herbs, will do best on an equator-facing windowsill. It should be kept away from extremely cold drafts, and grows best in strong sunlight, therefore a greenhouse or row cover is ideal if available. They can, however, be grown even in a basement, under fluorescent lights.

If its leaves have wilted from lack of water, it will recover if watered thoroughly and placed in a sunny location. Yellow leaves towards the bottom of the plant are an indication that the plant has been stressed; usually this means that it needs less water, or less or more fertilizer.”

Earlier today, I decided to take a couple of photos of the basil plant to show how the plant revived itself about four hours after I watered it.

20140130-182607.jpg
Photo taken at 12 plus in the afternoon, just after I watered the plant – the leaves look rather dismal and shrivelled at this point, even though I have watered the plant only the day before

20140130-182624.jpg
Photo taken at 4 plus in the afternoon – most of the leaves look well and lively again

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

